Faithful Budget National Call-in Days: Oct 4-5

In the face of the nation’s fiscal and employment crises, Congress needs to hear your voice: a moral voice of reason, calling for love of neighbor.

Twelve legislators, known as the “Super Committee,” have been given immense power over U.S. federal budget decisions that will impact many years to come. Social safety net programs such as WIC, SNAP, Medicaid, Medicare, Social Security, and others are in danger of drastic cuts.

Please call your Senator or Congressman today and tomorrow October 4-5 and ask for a Faithful Budget that preserves the dignity and protects the well-being of God’s most vulnerable people. See call-in details and the Congressional Representatives that you should reach out to below. To get more involved, visit the Faithful Budget campaign page here.

Please forward this email to friends, family, and your faith community, and let us know if you made the call!
With Faith in an Abundant Future,

Michael Livingston

Director, National Council of Churches Poverty Initiative

Call in number: 1-888-784-0527

(Note: This number will take you to the Capitol Switchboard. You will have to ask an operator to connect you to your Senator or Congressman’s office.)

Sample Call Script:

Can I please be connected with (name of Senator / Representative– see list below) office?” (This may take a moment.)

Once you are connected with that office: Hi, I’d like to leave a message about the federal budget.

Once you reach the staffer or a voice mail, say something like:

Hi my name is_______ and I am from _____ (city, state). As a person of faith, I am concerned that the federal budget negotiations are putting the most vulnerable peoples’ dignity and livelihood in peril. I believe programs that provide health care, nutrition assistance, shelter, education, and care for God’s Creation should be protected. I ask that you ensure options such as closing corporate tax loopholes and other revenue-raising opportunities remain on the negotiating table.”

Note: If you have time to call both your Senators and your Congress(wo)man, please do so. If you only have time to make one call, please prioritize calling the individual listed below. If you have a short personal testimony about how social safety net programs have helped your family or community, it is helpful to adapt the above script and include your story in your message. If you are unable to talk to anyone or leave a message, it is best to try back later.

If you’re a social media user, encourage your friends to call by linking up to this URL: on Facebook and Twitter (@NCCEndPoverty). Use the hashtag #FaithfulBudget to share on Twitter about the Faithful Budget call-in days.

Who to Ask for, by State:

AK –Senator Mark Begich (Senate Budget Committee member)

AL –Senator Jeff Sessions (Senate Budget Committee, Ranking member)

AR – Call your district representative or your senators.

AZ –Senator Jon Kyl (Member of “Super Committee;” also Senate minority whip)

CA –Rep. Xavier Becerra (Member of Super Committee); Rep. Nancy Pelosi (House Minority Leader); Rep. Kevin McCarthy (House Majority Whip), Rep. John Campbell (House Budget Committee & Appropriations designee); Representatives Ken Calvert, Tom McClintock, Mike Honda, and Karen Bass (House Budget Committee members)

CO – Call your district representative or your senators.

CT – Call your district representative or your senators.

DE –Senator Chris Coons (Senate Budget Committee)

FL –Senator Bill Nelson (Senate Budget Committee Member) ; Reps. Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Cathy Castor (House budget committee)

GA –Rep. Tom Price and Rob Woodall (House Budget Committee)

HI –Senator Daniel K. Inouye (President Pro Tempore)

IA – Senator Charles Grassley (Senate Budget Committee)

ID –Senator Mike Crapo (Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Mike Simpson (House Budget Committee & Appropriations designee)

IL –Senator Dick Durbin (Senate Majority Whip)

IN –Rep. Marlin Stutzman& Todd Young (House Budget committee); Todd Rokita (House Budget Committee)

KS –Rep. Tim Huelskamp (House Budget Committee)

KY –Senator Mitch McConnell (Senate Minority Leader); John Yarmuth (House Budget Committee)

LA – Call your district representative or your senators.

MA – Senator John Kerry (Member of Super Committee)

MD – Rep. Chris Van Hollen (Member of Super Committee); Senator Ben Cardin (Senate Budget Committee Member); Rep. Steny Hoyer (House Minority Whip)

ME – Call your district representative or your senators.

MI – Rep. Dave Camp or Rep. Fred Upton (Both are members of the Super Committee.); Senator Debbie Stabenow (Senate Budget Committee Member); Rep. Justice Amash (House Budget Committee)

MN –Rep. Betty McCollum (House Budget committee)

MO –Rep. Todd Akin (House Budget committee)

MS – Call your district representative or your senators.

MT –Senator Max Baucus (Member of Super Committee)

NC –Rep. Keith Schuler (House Budget Committee)

ND –Senator Kent Conrad (Senate Budget Committee Chairman)

NE – Call your district representative or your senators.

NH –Senator Kelly Ayotte (Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Frank Guinta (House Budget Committee)

NJ – Rep. Scott Garrett (Vice Chair, House Budget Committee); Rep. Bill Pascrell (House Budget Committee)

NM – Call your district representative or your senators.

NV –Senator Harry Reid (Senate Majority Leader)

NY – Rep. Paul Tonko (House Budget Committee)

OH – Senator Rob Portman (Member of Super Committee, also on Senate Budget Committee); Rep. John Boehner (Speaker of the House); Reps. Marcy Kaptur and Tim Ryan (House Budget Committee)

OK –Rep. Tom Cole (House Budget Committee and Appropriations designee); Rep. James Lankford (House Budget Committee)

OR –Senators Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley (Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Earl Blumenaur (House Budget Committee)

PA –Senator Pat Toomey (Member of Super Committee, also on Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Allyson Schwartz (House Budget Committee)

RI – Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (Senate Budget Committee)

SC- Representative James Clyburn (Member of Super Committee); Senator Lindsay Graham (Senate Budget Committee);  Rep. Mick Mulvaney (House Budget committee)

SD –Senator John Thune (Senate Budget Committee)

TN –Rep. Diane Black (House Budget Committee; Ways & Means designee)

TX – Rep. Jeb Hensarling (Co-Chair of the Super Committee); Senator Jon Cornyn (Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Bill Flores (House Budget Committee); Rep. Lloyd Doggett (House Budget Committee)

UT – Rep. Jason Chaffetz (House Budget Committee)

VA –Senator Jim Warner (Senate Budget Committee), Rep. Eric Cantor (House Majority Leader)

VT –Senator Bernard Sanders (Senate Budget Committee)

WA –Rep. Patty Murray (Co-Chair of the Super Committee)

WI –Senator Ron Johnson (Senate Budget Committee); Rep. Paul Ryan (Chair, House Budget Committee); Reps. Reid Ribble and Gwen Moore (House Budget Committee)

WV – Call your district representative or your senators.

WY –Senator Mike Enzi (Senate Budget Committee)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: